jump to navigation

self diagnosis February 20, 2010

Posted by Dani in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

the past few days, i’ve noticed painful little blisters on my fingertips/around my fingernails. they are filled with a clear liquid and feel like a sliver irritation. i was so fed up with this discomfort that i decided to look into it, and this is what i found:

dyshidrosis: a skin condition in which small, fluid-filled blisters (vesicles) occur on the palms of your hands or the soles of your feet, or both.
symptoms include small itchy bumps that progress into a rash,  intense itch, pain, and cracks or grooves in the skin. i knew i hit the nail on the head when i discovered these risk factors:

  • being female, because women appear to have a higher incidence of dyshidrosis (my mom has it as well)
  • stress, because dyshidrosis appears to be more common during times of stress (go figure..)
  • having seasonal allergies, such as hay fever (they always appear around the same time each year)
  • frequently exposing your skin to water or other wet substances (my hands sweat when i’m stressed/anxious)

these spots are terribly uncomfortable, especially when typing/playing video games/crocheting. and these are my top three hobbies, so it’s upsetting when it hurts to do such things! :( the symptoms usually last about 3 weeks. i get them most frequently around my pinky fingernail and on the tips of my thumb and index finger. once they come to the surface, there is a circle of dry skin. it’s really strange.

so hopefully when i see the doctor next, i can have them give me some kind of topical treatment to help. it’s miserable!

in other news, mom is doing okay so far. she’s scheduled to have quadruple bypass surgery on monday morning. coronary artery bypassshe is in excellent hands (the best cardiovascular hospital in the area), so i’m optimistic. but she’s 70 miles away and i miss her. thank you, everyone, for your prayers/thoughts.. words cannot express how much it means to me.

this is a very difficult situation for me to be dealing with at this time in my life – my parents are not the “typical” age;  mom will be 50 in august and dad will be 64 in june. i lost my grandmother in 2003; she was 83 years old. i’ve dealt with a lot of death/illness in my life (especially due to my mom’s line of work; she’s in the home health care field), but never someone this close to me.

please continue to keep me and my family in your thoughts/prayers. thank you. ♥

Comments

1. Katie - February 20, 2010

Still praying! Richard’s mom just had another stent put in, and if that doesn’t work she has to have a bypass. Scary stuff, but I’ll keep you in mind.

Dani - February 20, 2010

thanks katie :)
mom has had (i believe) four stents put in through the last few years, and unfortunately scar tissue built up around the openings. i guess that was her biggest problem.. but hopefully the bypass will fix her up. hope richard’s mom is doing well! it certainly is scary stuff..

2. sweetmommy87 - February 20, 2010

that is scary stuff. I am thinking of her and glad she is doing ok and hope it all goes well.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

